Three Different Brush Lettering Styles To Try

Three Different Styles of Brush Lettering To Try | chrystalizabeth.wordpress.com

When I was first getting into brush lettering, I had no idea where to start.

There are some wonderful brush lettering tutorials that are free that you can check out that are really helpful:

Surely Simple

The Postman’s Knock

Dawn Nicole Designs

They have a lot of tips and even practice worksheets you can use. I was thinking of doing the same thing, but these are so great, I totally recommend checking them out.

Now, the purpose of this blog post is to look at three particular brush lettering styles that I personally enjoy that are fun and *easy* (depending on where you are on your brush lettering journey).

Three Different Styles of Brush Lettering To Try | chrystalizabeth.wordpress.com

Brush Lettering Items Used:

Speedball Black India Ink

Daler Rowney Size 3 Watercolor Brush

Tombow Fudenosuke Brush Pen – Soft Tip

Pilot Pocket Brush Pen – Soft Tip

White Copy Paper

 

Brush Lettering Techniques:

1. Big & Chunky (aka Big & Fun!)

Three Different Styles of Brush Lettering To Try | chrystalizabeth.wordpress.com

Some examples from previous lettering I’ve done:

 

This was the first style of brush lettering I tried with a size 3 brush I got a while back at Michaels (I think?) that was intended just for watercolor. I love the freedom of doing this technique of brush lettering. You really can’t go wrong.

Normally the rule is to keep the down strokes as the thick strokes, but as you can see here, I didn’t exactly do that. With this technique, you want to do thick and thin anywhere and don’t worry about it all being uniform and the same. You want it to look spontaneous.

I also tend to add some water to my brush and then the ink so that I could get the light and dark texture. Something I did out of necessity in the beginning when I kept running out of ink.

And to add a little finishing touch to it, you can splatter some ink on the page. 🙂 I love it.

 

2. Brush Calligraphy

Three Different Styles of Brush Lettering To Try | chrystalizabeth.wordpress.com

With this technique, you basically write calligraphy, but with your brush pen. You want to keep it pretty uniform, keeping the down strokes thick and the up strokes thin. And if it helps you feel more comfortable, you can also do faux calligrpahy instead. 🙂 I’m still getting used to this pen, so my lettering is a little wiggly. And I was going to add some examples, but I realized I tend to do other styles more than this particular one so I don’t have any to share at the moment.

 

3. Mix And Match

Three Different Styles of Brush Lettering To Try | chrystalizabeth.wordpress.com

Some examples using this technique:

 

This is my favorite technique at the moment. This is one where you take your brush pen and switch up your lettering. Add some script to your print and some upper case with your lower case. Some short, some tall. Try the same quote a few different ways. I pencil my quote out before hand and switch the way the letters are until I’m happy, then ink.

You might notice my letters look a little strange. They shouldn’t be so saturated with ink, but I ran out of ink with this pen and instead of trying to open it up to add more, I just dip the tip of the pen in ink and use it. Not sure if that’s ok, but It’s what I’m doing and I like the results. 🙂

Also with this, when penciling my rough drafts, I like to squish and really fit my words as awkwardly as possible. If that makes sense. I love how it looks that way. I’ve been practicing doing this more and more often.

I hope you have some fun with these! Let me know if you’ve tried these are decide to in the future. I’d love to know!

 

~Chrystal

1 thought on “Three Different Brush Lettering Styles To Try”

Leave a Reply

